What it’s like being 16 years old, with exams in 3 weeks time…

Wow. What a time. You may have noticed I haven’t posted in a long time, and that is not because I haven’t wanted to. If I’m honest, it’s been a combination of simply not finding the time to do it, or not being in the right mindset to do it.

As you can imagine, I have a lot of work to do. I get homework from all of my lessons almost every lesson, and for the first time in my entire life, I haven’t wanted bank holidays to be a thing. Because of bank holidays, I’m going to miss 6 lessons (a total of 600 minutes of learning) which is absolutely huge. It’s meant for chemistry that instead of being finished by this point and simply being able to re-revise things I’ve already revised,  I’m having to learn brand new topics-not good to say the least. This is the same for business studies. I have only 2 lessons to learn 2 complete topics, which are by no means small in capacity. Am I worried? To be honest I haven’t really thought about it, I’m more just doing things without even thinking about it, as if I’m in auto pilot. But with this time to really reflect, I wouldn’t actually say I’m that worried, for business at least. I’m naturally quite clever but that isn’t even it, business GCSE is just logical and so I think I’ll be okay. I’ll also ofcourse just revise it the night before so I can go back over it and keep it fresh in my mind. For chemistry I’d say I’m about the same. Even though I will have to learn new topics on my own, my C3 paper isn’t until July and so I have plenty of time. I’m also quite good at chemistry so I’ll be able to pick it back up quickly.

So, away from school and the burden of exams, how am I doing? Right now? Brilliant. I stayed after school for English revision and the session was the best I have ever been to. Then I got home and finished reading Frankenstein which I have been meaning to do for a while. However, in terms of the past week? Not great. Last weekend I did no work what so ever, and it didn’t make me feel good. My motivation was probably at an all time low. I have a few thoughts as to why. My first thought was that I just didn’t care whether I did well or not, but that’s simply not true. I care so much how I do and sometimes I wonder whether the pressure I put on myself is weighing me down; I expect so much of myself so whenever I have a slight hiccup I let it get to myself more than it should. I heard a quote yesterday:’If you run a race 100 times against people slower than you, ofcourse you’re going to win every time, but you’re not improving. If you run a race 100 times against people faster than you, yes you might lose all 100 times, but you improve 100% of the time, because you find that tiny little extra bit of energy that you use to push yourself.’ Since I’m surrounded by people who are either my equal or worser at school, I find it hard to sometimes motivate getting better at something, if I’m already the best in my group. But I need to recognize that just because I am the best in my group, doesn’t mean it gives me the right to stop improving, and I need to be constantly striving to improve myself. Because this is what separates the good from the great; the good are able to win against their group, the great are able to win against themselves. In other words, in everything you do, aim to always do better than the last time you did it.

It really is crunch time now. People around me are getting stressed and so am I. If you think about it, 12 years of education (since the age of 4 in reception) has led up to this point, prepared me for this moment. So what is motivating me? What is giving me those last stores of energy to get through it. My pull factor. You see there are 2 factors to motivation. You have your push factors and your pull factors. The difference between them is that push factors require will power, and will power doesn’t last for ever. But your pull factor. Your desire for that never truly diminishes until you complete it, unless you don’t want it bad enough. Ofcourse if you only half heartedly want what you wish for, it will never come true, because you will never take the difficult steps to achieve it. And that’s what separates comfortable people for thriving people. Comfortable people will do as much as they can until they’re pushed out of their comfort zone and have to do things which are too hard. People that end up thriving are those who never gave up, who never stopped. Don’t get me wrong, it’s okay to take time to recuperate, but that’s all it is. You don’t stop, you rest. You regain your energy so that you can come back to it the next day and do even better, achieve even more, come even closer to your goal. That pull factor has to be so enticing to you, that you wake up early and go to bed late because you simply cannot accept the fact you will fail. So what is my pull factor? The complete, endless, absolute ability to do whatever I want to do each and every day. Not being dragged down to a 9-5 office job, whilst still having the financial freedom to enjoy myself. Number 2? To provide that for my entire family, both present and future generations. My goal, my aim, my purpose in this life is to eliminate any opportunity for myself or my family to be limited in what they want to do. Especially my close family; they have done so much for me they don’t even know, and everyday I try to treat each and every one of my friends with that same care for them since I’d hate to think they had no one there for them. Even people who aren’t necessarily my friends. I’ll be the one person to say ‘thank you’ or ‘have a good day’ to anyone from the bus driver to the head teacher. You see class doesn’t matter to me. Respect isn’t given, it’s earned. Don’t get me wrong; if someone doesn’t treat me with respect, I don’t care who they are, whether they are the bus driver or the head teacher, they will not receive respect from me. What I’m trying to say is. Don’t be like everybody else. Just because they are too obsessed with their own lives to care about others, don’t neglect how meaningful that one compliment or that one sign of gratitude could be to someone who hasn’t heard it in a week. I’m sorry I went off on a bit of a rant there, but that is what this blog is here for.

So how about you? Are you finding you’d like to be more motivated to accomplish things in life, to be productive? Well first off, you need to figure out what you actually want to be the reward of all of this work, because as humans, without the active reminder of rewards, we will be condemned to the endless cycle of periodical motivation. I’m about to say something which I don’t really know if I should, but I think I will. Motivation is fake and I’ll tell you why I think this. If you want something so badly, you won’t need outside motivation, and your motivation cannot be affected by external circumstances. This one pull factor, this one incentive will be so appealing to you simply can’t find yourself not motivated. Whether it’s creating music or exploring the complexity of neuroscience, find something you’re obsessed with. And that’s the key word. Obsessed. You hear people talk about it. Arguably one of the most successful UFC fighters of all time , Connor McGregor said openly ‘I am not talented, I am obsessed.’ ‘We are all born equals.’ He found something he loved, something he could not live without, and he worked on it and look where he is now. Find something that you love, and it will make you wealthy. Do not look for something to make you wealthy, because if you love something enough, you will become obsessed, you will become a master, and you will therefore become wealthy.

I’m going to end it now, it was good to get another one of these done and I hoped it helped you because I know it helped me. All have a good day!

Peace

Pat

Leave a Reply

