I did it again-day 4 (updated)

I’m writing this is mid-day, but I usually write it in the evening. This is because it happened again, and I need to clear my thoughts so I can move on without it bothering me.

I woke up at 6 with the alarm, and that was fine. But my mum also got up because she was working an early shift. She began making the tea, and so I thought she would make me one and bring it upstairs, as I usually do for her. So, I went back up stairs to have a shower but STUPIDLY hopped in to bed. Honestly, after yesterdays events, how did I think I’d be able to get back out of it? The tea never came which was a problem because I kept telling myself I’d drink the tea in bed and get up after. I think the overall problem right now is that I’m not getting enough sleep. I wake up at 6 and go to bed at 12. I’m a teenager for god sake, I need my sleep, but the temptation of playing Black Ops 2 with my friends was keeping me up and it was really fun. I need at least 7 hours of sleep because that hour makes all the difference and can make or break a day. By no means am I saying that this day is broken. I am going to do as much work as I’d usually do, I’m just going to have to end at a later time, which means less time to chill. I have no one to blame but myself but hopefully this tough love will snap me back in to routine and improve my discipline.

Today went well. Really well in fact. After getting out of bed, I swiftly got my favorite meal I make for myself which is a ham and cheese toastie with a cup of tea. After that, I read 4, yes 4, chapters of Frankenstein which is some absolutely incredible progress. It has meant I am now on chapter 22 and the book ends at chapter 24. Since I wanted to finish the book my monday night, I think I am well within my goal and am therefore set to achieve it. This is massive for me because I never actually read Frankenstein the first time I was meant to and so the fact I’ve finally gotten around to it has given me greater confidence going in to the exam. Although I felt really tired after all of that reading, my brother made me sausages and bacon, and, with another cup of tea, I was ready for my next set of revision. I watched a video on YouTube which went through the whole of B1  and some little extras such as units I need to remember for P2. I’m happy to say that it was all revision and there was nothing there which surprised me (phew!) but it also meant I was able to go back over some stuff I perhaps wasn’t as clued up to as I first thought. I also went back over the chemistry revision cards I created yesterday for all of the experiments I learned and I’m once again happy to say I remembered them all. This is crucial because there have been rumours that this years science exams will be experiment focused, in preparation for the new specification coming through next year. That is where I ended the revision day, and I feel I must have done around 2 and a half-3 hours which I’m okay with, especially considering I didn’t have the best of starts.

Something I am disappointed with is the fact that, once again, is it midnight at time of writing this and I’ am still not asleep. In truth, I contemplated not writing this blog post in hope of getting some extra sleep, but it doesn’t take me long to do these as I’m a quick typer and usually just type whatever comes in to my head; I feel this is the best way because I use this blog as a way to reflect on my day. Despite this, it is ending up that writing the blog is meaning that I get less sleep. However, due to how much I value these 30 minutes I spend reflecting, tomorrow I will make sure to write the blog well before I go to bed, and prioritize it over something less important. I really feel like writing this blog is helping me control my stress because it’s like your venting all of your feelings to someone and they just sit there and listen, without the need for someone to actually sit there and listen. Then again, there are some of you out there who will be reading this and to you guys I appreciate you massively; it makes me feel like I’m not alone on my journey to becoming the best me I can. Although I know it might not seem like much to many of you, the few views and likes I get on these posts really motivate me to continue, because I know that there are people who care. Also, if there are some of you out there who don’t currently write a blog, I suggest you to just try it. I honestly think you’ll be surprised by how useful and calming it can be to just set aside some time each day or night to reflect on what went well, what could have been improved, and the plan of action for the next day.

Once again I don’t think I’ll read my book tonight because I feel I need to prioritize that extra 15 mins of sleep, considering I’ll be getting up at 6! I am determined to get up early tomorrow and prove to myself, after 2 consecutive days of falling asleep, that I can do it. A lot of people seem to think that with motivation comes momentum, but I object to this; I think it is the other way around. I think that with momentum comes motivation. Have you ever noticed how you tend to enjoy doing the things you’re good at, rather than the things you’re bad at? This is what I mean. We enjoy being good at things-as humans it’s in our nature. And so from this, for any of you who are finding yourselves in a rut, unable to find motivation, begin with momentum. Just start doing the thing you want to achieve. Set SMART, achievable goals you can accomplish everyday, and as you begin to see the progress of your works, the gratification is indescribable. I hope you all had a great day, and I wish you the best of luck with tomorrow! Go get em!

Peace

Pat

Leave a Reply

